Pós-Graduação
Stricto sensu

Master of Science

Environment and Health

Cuiabá – MT

About Us

The Academic Master’s Degree in Environment and Health of t UNIC has as its purpose to form teachers able to search and understand the functioning of complex interactions between man and the environment, involving the legal Amazon ecosystems as well as the impact of these actions on the population health.

The Program aims to meet the demand of professionals who research, update and develop activities related to Environmental Science and Health in the state of Mato Grosso and Midwest Region.

 

Target Audience

The program is multidisciplinary, with emphasis in the areas of health (pharmacy, physiotherapy, nursing, medicine, dentistry, biomedicine, psychology) and environment (engineering, biology and physics) and related areas.

Newsletter

Fields of Research

Environment and Health in the Legal Amazon

It is an interdisciplinary field involving the areas of environmental and health science aiming to analyze and subsidize basic or applied knowledge of complex interactions between the man and the Amazonian environment, considering the use of land and the impacts of these anthropic actions on the environment and the health of its population.

Research Topics

Research Topic 1

Models and bioindicators of air quality for the prediction of diseases related to health: It aims the validation of air quality models and their use as predictors of health related to the environment. It also aims the analysis of indicators related to anthropogenic factors, considering different aspects of pollution of the ecosystem and its relationship with human health.

Research Topic 2

Environmental pollutants in water and soil and related diseases: It is proposed to analyze the influence of various pollutants from soil and water related to Cerrado biomes, Pantanal and the Amazon in the occurrence of diseases in the exposed population, with emphasis on the use of pesticides and their contaminants (heavy metals, persistent organic pollutants and others), which are intensively used by agriculture in Mato Grosso state.

Courses

Compulsory Courses
  • Biostatistics
  • Basic and Applied immunology
  • Impacts of anthropogenic actions and their effects on health and the environment
  • Research Methods
  • Follow-up Seminars on research projects
Elective Courses
  • Environmental aspects applied to the Molecular Bases
  • Pathological clinical bases of environmental illnesses
  • Ecology and Health
  • Applied Statistics in environmental studies and surveys
  • Environment, Occupational exposure and biomarkers
  • Notions of systematic review and meta-analysis
  • Topics in Environmental physics

Faculty Directory

Ageo Mário Cândido da Silva, PhD.

Ageo Mário Cândido da Silva, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail ageo.silva@kroton.com.br

Carla Leticia Gediel Rivero Wendt, PhD.

Carla Leticia Gediel Rivero Wendt, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail carla.wendt@kroton.com.br

Carlo Ralph de Musis, PhD.

Carlo Ralph de Musis, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail carlo.ralph@kroton.com.br

Cristhiane Almeida Leite, PhD.

Cristhiane Almeida Leite, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail cristhiane.leite@kroton.com.br

Henrique César Santejo Silveira, PhD.

Henrique César Santejo Silveira, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail henrique.silveira@kroton.com.br

Luiz Evaristo Ricci Volpato, PhD.

Luiz Evaristo Ricci Volpato, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail luiz.rvolpato@kroton.com.br

Marcelo Dias de Souza, PhD.

Marcelo Dias de Souza, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail marcelo.dias@florestal.eng.br

Osvaldo Borges Pinto Junior, PhD.

Osvaldo Borges Pinto Junior, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail osvaldo.borges@kroton.com.br

Silvia Cristina Heredia Vieira, PhD.

Silvia Cristina Heredia Vieira, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail silvia.vieira@kroton.com.br

Sue Ellen Ferreira Modesto Rey de Figueiredo, PhD.

Sue Ellen Ferreira Modesto Rey de Figueiredo, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail sue.figueiredo@kroton.com.brr

Vander Fernandes, PhD.

Vander Fernandes, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail vander.fernandes@kroton.com.br

Walkiria Shimoya Bittencourt, PhD.

Walkiria Shimoya Bittencourt, PhD.

Lattes E-Mail walkiria.bittencourt@kroton.com.br

Contact

Cristhiane Almeida Leite, PhD.

Graduate Program Chair in Environment and Health

Lucélia de Oliveira Santos

Administrative Staff

Publicações do Programa